New Ex-Co Appointed at SLANSHEI to Strategize Direction for Higher Education in Sri Lanka

Seated Left to Right: Dr. Susantha Dissanayake, (Non Ex-Co Member, Aquinas), Dr. Kithsiri Edirisinghe (Ex-Co Member, IIHS), Prof. Lalith Gamage (Immediate Past President, SLIIT), Mr. Upul Daranagama (Vice President, Horizon Campus), Prof. Nalaka Jayakody (President, CINEC), Prof. Colin N. Peiris (Hon. Secretary, SLIIT), Major Gen. Milinda Peiris (Treasurer, Saegis Campus), Dr. Athula Pitigala-Arachchi (Ex-Co Member, APIIT), Mr. Prashanth Chanmugam (Ex-Co Member, Gateway Graduate School)

Sri Lanka Association of Non-State Higher Education Institutes (SLANSHEI) is an umbrella organization formed in the year 2016 through the initiation of seven leading private institutes working for a common set of goals aimed at addressing the needs of the non-state higher education sector in the country. The seven founding members comprised of Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology (SLIIT), Colombo International Nautical and Engineering College (CINEC), Horizon Campus (HC), Asian Pacific Institute of Information Technology (APIIT), Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka (CA Sri Lanka), Aquinas and South Asian Institute of Technology and Management (SAITM). Apart from these institutes, Saegis, KIU, Gateway Graduate School and International Institute of Health Sciences (IIHS) have currently gained its full membership whilst Sanasa Campus acts as an Associate Member.

Since its very inception, the organization was headed by the founder President Prof. Lalith Gamage, CEO/Vice-Chancellor of SLIIT with much vision and dedication to improve the non-state higher education system in Sri Lanka.

The 3rd Annual General Meeting of the SLANSHEI was held on 08th March 2019 at Elevate Banquet Hall of Access Tower and concluded successfully subsequent to the appointment of the new office bearers for the year of 2019/2020.

This new SLANSHEI council of management includes the following members:

Name Designation Institution
Prof. (Capt.) Nalaka Jayakody President CINEC Campus
Prof. Lalith Gamage Immediate Past President SLIIT
Mr. Upul Daranagama Vice-President Horizon Campus
Prof. Colin N. Peiris Hon. Secretary SLIIT
Major Gen. (Retd.) Milinda Peiris Hon. Treasurer Saegis Campus
Dr. Athula Pitigala-Arachchi Elected Councillor APIIT
Dr. Kithsiri Edirisinghe Elected Councillor IIHS
Mr. Prashanth Chanmugam Elected Councillor Gateway Graduate School
Mr. Harsha Ariyawansa Elected Councilor KIU

The President, Prof. Nalaka Jayakody announced that the Association intends to increase the membership as it would create a stronger hold for the Association to form alliances and agreements with related parties to improve the higher education sector and create more opportunities of the member institutions.

He thanked all the members for the immense support extended during his tenure last year and for re-electing him as the President. He especially thanked Prof. Colin N. Peiris for his contribution towards getting many tasks accomplished.